2019     2018     2017     2016     2015


August 2019

Petra Famiyeh wins 3rd place Poster Award at the UofT Department of Medical Biophysics Summer Student Poster Day!


Jacqueline Law receives the UofT Department of Medical Biophysics 2019-2020 MBP Excellence OSOTF scholarship!


June 2019

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Kwan who won a poster award, and Pamela Psarianos who was part of a team that received a Group Project Presentation Award at the STARS21 Research Day.


May 2019

Dr. Jennifer Kwan is the first ever radiation oncology resident to be awarded the prestigious CIHR Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship!


Undergraduate research student, Petra Famiyeh wins the John P. Mitchell Award from the UofT Department of Medical Biophysics.


April 2019

Dr. Fei-Fei Liu receives the 2019 UofT Institute of Medical Science Mel Silverman Mentorship Award.


March 2019

Dr. Fei-Fei Liu has been appointed to the Peter and Shelagh Godsoe Chair in Radiation Medicine at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, UHN and UofT.


January 2019

Dr. Xiao Zhao publishes a paper in Nature Metabolism, demonstrating that manipulating metabolism may curb skin fibrosis, a common side effect of radiation treatments affecting quality of life for cancer survivors.


December 2018

Pamela Psarianos' poster placed 2nd out of 115 across Ontario at Terry Fox Research Institute's Ontario Node Symposium. Congratulations!


November 2018

Dr. Xiao Zhao successfully defends his PhD!


October 2018

Congratulations to Dr. Pierre-Antoine Bissey on winning the 1st place Poster Prize at the 2018 RADIATE International Marie Sklodowska-Curie Meeting at the Institut Curie, Paris for his project, "MicroRNA associated with distant metastasis in nasopharyngeal carcinoma target pathways that mediate cisplatin resistance".


Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Kwan on receiving the 2018 UofT Postgraduate Research Award: Miriam Neveren Memorial Award and William S. Fenwick Research Fellowship.


May 2018

Dr. Pierre-Antoine Bissey publishes his paper "Dysregulation of the MiR-449b target TGFBI alters the TGFβ pathway to induce cisplatin resistance in nasopharyngeal carcinoma" in Oncogenesis.


Pamela Psarianos wins the best oral presentation award at the 2018 James Lepock Memorial Symposium!


February 2018

Pamela Psarianos is awarded the 2018 Society of Chinese Bioscientists in America Toronto Chapter Symposium Best Poster Award - second year in a row! Congratulations, Pamela!


September 2017

Camilla Giovino is the Highest-Performing, Highly Commended Entrant in Medical Sciences from the US & Canada region. Congratulations on becoming a Regional Winner of the 2017 Undergraduate Awards!


June 2017

Dr. Fei-Fei Liu wins the Basic / Translational Science Abstract Award from the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO).


March 2017

Master's students Jennifer Kwan and Pamela Psarianos are each awarded the 2017 Society of Chinese Bioscientists in America Toronto Chapter Symposium Best Poster Awards.


December 2016
Master's student Pamela Psarianos, a member of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, performs with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra's Lord of the Rings production.


November 2016
Undergraduate research student Hilary Pang is among the top 10% in the Undergraduate Awards, the world's largest international academic awards program. She received an award to attend the Global Summit meeting in Dublin, Ireland. Congratulations Hilary!


July 2016
The Liu lab participates and volunteers at the 10th Annual Joe's Team triathlon/duathlon in Muskoka to raise funds for head and neck cancer research.

May 2016
Catch a glimpse of Pierre-Antoine Bissey and Aline Renoult in Breakfast Television's "Do you want to be a triathlete" segment for Joe's Team.


Camilla Giovino is the inaugural recipient of the Outstanding Achievement in Undergraduate Research Award in Human Biology at the University of Toronto.

April 2016

Dr. Xiao Zhao is awarded the prestigious Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Fellowship.

Jacqueline Law is awarded the F. Michael Barret Award at the 4th year Cell & Systems Biology poster session.

March 2016

Dr. Xiao Zhao is awarded the prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship.


A paper by Drs. Scott Bratman and Jeff Bruce et al on HPV genotype and HNSCC survival is published in JAMA Oncol.


February 2016
A paper by Dr. Willa Shi et al on promotion of breast cancer progression by regulation of CRIP2 by miR-449a is published in Oncotarget.


November 2015

A paper by Dr. Philip Wong et al on prognostic microRNAs and regulation of the RHO adhesion pathway is published in Oncotarget.


October 2015

A paper by Dr. Jeff Bruce et al on the molecular landscape of NPC is published in J Clin Oncol.


August 2015

Pamela Psarianos wins 1st prize at the Medical Biophysics Summer Student Poster Day.


June 2015

Dr. Jeff Bruce wins the prestigious Knudson Postdoctoral Fellow Award.


June 2015

Dr. Takashi Kinoshita wins the prestigious Uehara Memorial Foundation Award.


May 2015

Dr. Xiao Zhao successfully transfers to PhD.


April 2015

Lusia Sepiashvili successfully defends her PhD.


January 2015

As part of the Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) Network, Dr. Liu et al published a new article in Nature entitled "Comprehensive genomic characterization of head and neck squamous cell carcinomas".